Vital Records

Office Hours

Clients are seen on a walk-in basis as time allows. Photo ID is required.


If you have ever applied for a driver’s license, enrolled your child in school or applied for your retirement benefits, you have needed a copy of your birth certificate. Our Vital Records department is the office you would contact to request a certified copy of the birth or death certificate. This service is available in each of our offices.

Once you know that you need a certified copy of a birth or death certificate, the next step is to determine where the event occurred. Birth and death records are filed according to the state where the event occurred. If the event occurred in another state, then a certified copy of the record can only be obtained by applying directly to that state. Births or deaths occurring in Utah are only available through the correct office in Utah.


Birth Certificates

How to Apply (For births that occurred in Utah only)

  • Fill out application at your local health department. Or print a copy of the application form (see link below) and fill it out ahead of time.
  • Show a current state-issued picture ID.
  • The cost is $20 for the first document and $10 for each additional copy.
  • Some older records are not immediately available. For the $20 fee, the application must be sent in to the Office of Vital Records and Statistics, P.O. Box 141012, Salt Lake City, UT, 84114-1012. Processing time for these records is 3 to 4 weeks, or certificates can be expedited (available within 24 hours) for an additional fee of $15.

For births outside of Utah, click HERE.

Death Certificates

How to Apply:

  • Fill out application at your local health department. You can print out a copy of the application form (see below) and fill it out ahead of time.
  • Show a current state-issued picture ID.
  • The fee is $30 for the first document and $10 for each additional copy for each individual as of July 1, 2018.
  • Your documents can be processed while you wait.
  • Some older records may not be immediately available. For the $18 fee, the application must be sent to the Office of Vital Records and Statistics, P.O. Box 141012, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012. Processing time for older records is 3 to 4 weeks, or certificates can be expedited (processed within a 24 hour time period) for an additional fee of $15.
  • For genealogy purposes, contact your local office for further information.

Utah law allows families to care for their dead without the services of a licensed funeral director. Families that do not retain a funeral director must file a death certificate and comply with state laws and rules regarding the disposition of human remains (Click HERE for more information).


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)


Can I obtain a marriage certificate from the local vital records office?


Yes, if the marriage took place in Utah since 1978. Otherwise, you must contact the county clerks office in the county in which you applied for your license.


Can I obtain a certificate of divorce from the local vital records office?


Yes, if the divorce took place in Utah since 1978. Otherwise, you will need to contact the county court in which the divorce was granted.


Can I obtain birth, death, marriage, divorce certificates for events that took place in another state from the local vital records office?


No, you must apply to that state. Please try this website for obtaining information about records kept by other states:
http://www.vitalchek.com or call 1-800-255-2414.