Southwest Utah Public Health Department Logo


Mission Statement

To protect the community’s health through promotion of wellness and prevention of disease.


In 1970, Utah Governor Calvin L. Rampton issued an executive order which fixed the boundaries for eight multi-county districts to provide public health services for residents. The main purpose of establishing district health departments was to provide border-to-border local public health services while strengthening the role of county and municipal officials in executing state and federal public health programs, eliminating duplication and competition between various levels of government. The Southwest Utah Public Health Department (SWUPHD) was organized in 1972 to provide public health services in Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, and Washington counties.

The SWUPHD is one of 13 local public health departments/districts in Utah. The following is a list of the Directors/Health Officers of the SWUPHD and their years of service:

  • Dr. W. David Trafton (1974-1978)
  • Dr. Ray G. Cowley (1978-1984)
  • William J. Coffman (1984-1993)
  • Gary L. Edwards (1993-2005)
  • David W. Blodgett, MD, MPH (2005-present)

We are committed to our role in ensuring that all residents in the five-county area have access to personal and environmental health services and education. Crucial to achieving this goal are our partnerships with individuals, community groups, health providers, and businesses. Our vision is healthy people residing in healthy communities. Professional services are provided under the direction of the Health Officer, public health nurses, environmental health scientists, and other health professionals.

Translate >